The Housing Authority of the Town of Boonton is governed by a seven member Board of Commissioners pursuant to the Redevelopment and Housing Law, N.J.S.A. 40A:12A-1 to 40A:12A-49. In accordance with the state enabling legislation, the governing body appoints six members of the Board of Commissioners for five-year staggered terms, with one being a mayoral appointment. The seventh member is a State appointment chosen by the Commissioner of the Department of Community Affairs of New Jersey for a five-year term.

The Board of Commissioners is responsible for developing the By-Laws that govern the Corporation. The Board is also responsible for formulating policies for the Authority, and assuring that they are carried out by the administration. The Board, having accepted ultimate responsibility by virtue of their appointment, must delegate the authority to the executive director to act on their behalf and must, individually and collectively, observe the “chain of command” and avoid situations that would give the appearance that they are managers instead of policymakers.

James Plaisted, Chairperson
Jan 2019 – Dec 31, 2024
Alderman Appointee

Amjad Rashid, Vice Chairperson
Mayor Appointment
Jan 1, 2017- Dec 31, 2026

Virginia Dolce, Commissioner
Governor appointee
May 1, 2011 – Dec 31,2022

Leonardo Moyoli Jr., Commissioner
Alderman appointment
Jan 1, 2017 – Dec 31, 2026

Mildred Ariemma, Commissioner
Alderman Appointment
Dec 31,2019 – Dec 31, 2024

D. Lynn Schinman, Commissioner
Alderman Appointment
Jan 1, 2012 – Dec 31, 2022

Terrence J. Corriston, Legal Counsel

Members Of Staff

Executive Director – Sherry L. Simms
Phone: (973) 335 0846 Ext 10

Chief Operating Officer – Kenneth Kelshall
Phone: (973) 335 0846 Ext 14

Section 8 Coordinator – Nathalie Fominaya
Phone: (973) 335 0846 Ext 15

Family Self Sufficiency Coordinator – Summaid Rashid
Phone: (973) 335 0846